Open vision bar


OMEA Black and White Logo

The ratings are determined as follows:

Rating I – (Superior) An outstanding performance, with very few technical errors and exemplifying a truly musical expression. This rating should be reserved for the truly outstanding performance.

Rating II – (Excellent) An unusual performance in many respects, but not worthy of the highest rating due to minor defects in performance, ineffective interpretation or improper instrumentation.

Rating III – (Good) An acceptable performance but not outstanding. Showing accomplishment and marked promise, but lacking one or more essential qualities.

Rating IV – (Poor) A poor performance showing many technical errors, poor musical conception, lack of interpretation, incomplete instrumentation, or lacking in any of the other essential qualities.

Rating V – (Very Poor) A very poor performance indicating deficiencies in most of the essential factors.

The following Aurora High School students participated in the OMEA Adjudicated event:


Aurora Percussion Ensemble 1 - Class C Percussion Ensemble Piece - Rating I

            (Grant Thieding, AJ Alexander, Brian Miller, Alexi Chmielewski, Savannah Brown)

Aurora Percussion Ensemble 2 - Class C Percussion Ensemble Piece - Rating II

(Mira Houde, Lily Strok, Tyler Reker, Tyler Demyan, Aidan Kondik, Guillermo Ramirez)

Aurora Percussion Ensemble 3 - Class C Percussion Ensemble Piece - Rating II

(AJ Alexander, Philip Cerne, Grayson Cromeens, Aidan Wetzel, Julissa Gonzales Arelleno, Riley Lane)

Aurora Mallet Ensemble - Class A Mallet Ensemble Piece - Rating II

            (Samuel Nabring, Aurora Fabec, Kyra Greene, Emma Lang, Brian Miller)

Aurora Saxophone Trio - Class C Saxophone Ensemble Piece - Rating II

            (Ryan Kerchenski, Jack Nyerges, Daniel Carlson)

Aurora Clarinets - Class C Clarinet Trio Piece - Rating I

(Angelina Hejl, Raniel Cervantes, Savannah Brown

Aurora Woodwind Trio - Festival Performance Woodwind Trio

            (Lydia Schiopota, Avery Hendl, Antoinette Walter)


Ryan Kerchenski - Class A Alto Saxophone Solo - Rating I


Jack Berendt - Class A French Horn Solo - Rating I


Kylie Bryant - Class A Flute Solo - Rating I


Grant Thieding - Class A Snare Solo - Rating II


Julissa Gonzales Arelleno - Class A Mallet Solo - Rating II


Nathan Cooper - Class B Euphonium Solo -  Rating I


Antoinette Walter - Class B Flute Solo - Rating I


Emma Lang - Class B Clarinet Solo - Rating II


Austin Zawicki - Class C Clarinet Solo - Rating I


Samuel Nabring - Festival Performance Piano Solo


Congratulations to all participants.


Mason Smith - Band Director

Eddie Nabring - Band Director

Lea Byers - Percussion Instructor


Back to School News     Print News Article